ieee antennas propagation society engineers education students

antenna signal processing radio astronomy engineering space communication

wireless mobile satellite telecommunications applied optics electromagnetic waves



AP-S Student Paper Contest Winners

2023 AP-S Student Paper Contest, Portland, Oregon

First Place:
A V-Band Highly Directive Circularly Polarized Antenna Array for Wireless and Contactless Continuous Glucose Monitoring

Hoda Farhat, Joseph Costantine, Rouwaida Kanj, Youssef Tawk, Ali Ramadan, Assaad Eid, American University of Beirut, Lebanon.

Second Place:
Novel Wideband Beamformers for AESAs

Luke Kipfer, University of Massachusetts Amherst, United States; Rick Kindt, Naval Research Laboratory, United States; Marinos Vouvakis, University of Massachusetts Amherst, United States.

Third Place:
An SIE-GSTC Solver for Simulation of Monoanisotropic Metasurfaces

Sebastian Celis, Ran Zhao, Rui Chen, Hakan Bagci, KAUST, Saudi Arabia.

Fourth Place:
Antenna Inverse Design Using Mu-Near-Zero Isorefractive (MNZIR) Materials

Vahid Nikkhah, Brian Edwards, Nader Engheta, University of Pennsylvania, United States.

Fifth Place:
A Kirigami-Inspired Foldable Spherical Fully Dielectric Luneburg Lens Antenna

Li-Wei Zhao, Ya Fei Wu, Yong-Xin Guo,National University of Singapore, Singapore 2023.



2022 Student Paper Contest Winners:

First Place:
Chiral Nonlocal Metasurfaces for Frequency-Selective Wavefront Shaping

Yoshiaki Kasahara, The University of Texas at Austin, United States Adam Overvig, Andrea Alu, City University of New York, United States

Second Place:
Transparent, Cascaded-Sheet Metasurfaces for Field Transformations

Malik Almunif, Jordan Budhu, Anthony Grbic, University of Michigan, United States

Third Place:
Design of Modulated Dielectric Metasurfaces for Antenna Beamforming

Vasileios Ataloglou, George Eleftheriades, University of Toronto, Canada



2021 Student Paper Contest Winners:

First Place:
UHF Tags Array for Holographic Target Localization and Wireless Health Monitoring

Jiang Zhu, Luzhou Xu; Google LLC, United States

Jimmy Hester, Manos M. Tentzeris; Georgia Institute of Technology, United States

Aline Eid; Google LLC and Georgia Institute of Technology, United States

Second Place:
Achieving Hemispherical Beam Coverage for a 39 GHz Integrated Lens featuring Double-Elliptical Boundaries through sequential GO and multiple Scattering

Youngno Youn, Wonbin Hong, Pohang University of Science and Technology, Korea

Third Place:
A Vasculature Anatomy Inspired Flexible Slot Antenna for Continuous Non-invasive Glucose Monitoring

Jessica Hanna, Joseph Costantine, American University of Beirut, Lebanon



2020 Student Paper Contest Winners:

First Place:
Optically Invisible Touch Sensor Panel Integrated Antenna: Concept and Demonstration at mmWave Spectrum

Junho Park, Wonbin Hong, Pohang University of Science and Technology, Republic of Korea

Second Place:
A Space-Time Modulated Distributed Antenna Array for Multiple Target Angle Estimation

Stavros Vakalis, Jeffrey Nanzer, Michigan State University, United States

Third Place:
Statistical Analysis of Information Transmission in Ray-Chaotic Enclosures: A Stochastic Green’s Function Approach

Shen Lin, Zhen Peng, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, United States



2019 Student Paper Contest Winners:

First Place:
Wideband Omnidirectional Circularly Polarized Antenna for Millimeter-Wave Applications Using Printed Artificial Anisotropic Polarizer

Chen Ding, Kwai-Man Luk, State Key Laboratory of Terahertz and Millimeter Waves, China

Second Place:
A Machine Learning Based 77 GHz Radar Target Classification for Autonomous Vehicles

Xiuzhang Cai, Kamal Sarabandi, University of Michigan, United States

Third Place:
Spread-Spectrum Camouflaging based on Time-Modulated Metasurface

Xiaoyi Wang, Christophe Caloz, Polytechnique Montréal, Canada



2018 Student Paper Contest Winners:

First Place:
A Class of Cavity-Based UWB Multi-Beamformers With Applications to Sub-6 GHz 5G

Christopher Merola, Marinos Vouvakis, University of Massachusetts, United States

Second Place (tie):
A Highly Isolated Dual-polarized Crossed Dipole Array Antenna for Multi-mission Applications

Mirhamed Mirmozafari, Shahrokh Saeedi, Guifu Zhang, University of Oklahoma, United States

High-Directivity Broadband Simultaneous Transmit and Receive (STAR) Antenna System

Prathap Valale Prasannakumar, Mohamed Elmansouri, Dejan Filipovic , University of Colorado, Boulder, United States

Third Place:
A Refinement-Free Calderón Preconditioner for the Electric Field Integral Equation on Geometries with Junctions

Simon Adrian, Thomas Eibert, Technical University of Munich, Germany Francesco Andriulli, Politecnico di Torino, Italy



2017 Student Paper Contest Winners:

First Place:
Diplexer Integration Into a Ka-Band High-Gain Gap Waveguide Corporate-Fed Slot Array Antenna

Abbas Vosoogh, Chalmers University, Sweden
Milad Sharifi Sorkherizi, Concordia University, Canada
Ashraf Uz Zaman, Jian Yang, Chalmers University, Sweden
Ahmed A. Kishk, Concordia University, Canada

Second Place:
A Dual-Polarized Dual-Mode Annular Ring Microstrip Antenna for GPS Interference Suppression

Navid Rezazadeh, Lotfollah Shafai, University of Manitoba, Canada

Third Place:
High-resolution Polarimetric THz Imaging for Biomedical Applications

Nandhini Srinivasan, Cosan Caglayan, Niru Nahar, Kubilay Sertel, The Ohio State University, United States



2016 Student Paper Contest Winners: 

First Place:
A Horizontally Polarized Beam-Steerable Antenna for Sub-millimeter-wave Polarimetric Imaging and Collision Avoidance Radars

Armin Jam, University of Michigan
Kamal Sarabandi, University of Michigan

Second Place:
Broadband Beamforming of Terahertz Pulses with a Single-Chip 4×2 Array in Silicon

M. Mahdi Assefzadeh, Rice University
Aydin Babakhani, Rice University

Third Place:
On-chip UWB Phased Arrays for mmW Connectivity

Seckin Sahin, The Ohio State University
Niru K. Nahar, The Ohio State University
Kubilay Sertel, The Ohio State University