ieee antennas propagation society engineers education students

antenna signal processing radio astronomy engineering space communication

wireless mobile satellite telecommunications applied optics electromagnetic waves



AP-S Doctoral and Pre-Doctoral Research Grant Recipients

IEEE 2022 Antennas & Propagation Society Doctoral Research Grant Winners

Tessa Haldes, University of Wisconsin - Madison
Title: Real time adaptive beamforming for non-invasive microwave hyperthermia of cancerous tumors
Sponsor: Susan Hagness

Pilar Castillo Tapia, KTH Royal Institute of Technology
Title: Non-rotationally symmetric geodesic lens antennas for 5G/6G communication systems
Sponsor: Oscar Quevedo-Teruel

Zhan Wang, University of Electronic Science and Technology of China
Title: Adaptive Intelligent Antenna Array
Sponsor: Yuandan Dong

Christos Mystilidis, KU Leuven
Title: Probing the Limits of Computational Mesoscopic Electromagnetics: Nonlocality and Electron Spill-out
Sponsor: Guy Vandenbosch

Abel Zandamela, Trinity College Dublin - The University of Dublin
Title: Multi-functional Small Antennas for Enhanced Security and Localization in On-body IoT Devicess
Sponsor: Adam Narbudowicz

Ilir Gashi, University of Siena
Title: Inhomogeneous Gradient Index (GRIN) Lens Antennas: Analysis and Design
Sponsor: Matteo Albani

Hae-In Kim, University of Florida
Title: Metaconductor Based Antenna-in-Package for Highly Efficient Millimeter-Wave Wireless Communication
Sponsor: Yong-Kyu Yoon

Shixiong Yin, City College of New York
Title: Time Metamaterials
Sponsor: Andrea Alù

Wei Wang, University of Notre Dame
Title: Low-Cost, Low-Power Phased-Array-Fed Lens Antennas On Mobile Devices for Millimeter Wave 5G Wireless Communication
Sponsor: Jonathan Chisum

Viviana Giunzioni, Politecnico di Torino
Title: On a Wideband, Refinement-Free, Preconditioning Strategy for the PMCHWT Formulation for Full-Wave Electromagnetic Compatibility and Interference Circuit Simulations
Sponsor: Francesco P. Andriulli

IEEE 2022 Antennas & Propagation Society Eugene F. Knott Pre-Doctoral Research Grant Winners

Ahmet Bilir, BogaziciUniversity
Title: The Design and Development of a MultiAntenna System for Microwave Ablation and Monitoring
Sponsor: Sema Dumanli

Alexander B. Murray, University of Alberta
Title: Loading of Electrically Small Folded Dipole Antennas for Improved Impedance and Radiation Characteristics
Sponsor: Ashwin Iyer

Iryna Mikhailikova, V.N. Karazin Kharkiv National University
Title: The scattering of waves from layered circular dielectric rod partially covered with graphene
Sponsor: Alexander Nosich

Tasin Nusrat, South Dakota Mines
Title: Equivalent Circuit Approach of Array Antennas with Periodic Defected Ground Structures to Achieve Far-Field Wireless Power Transfer
Sponsor: Sayan Roy

Andrea Avila, Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Valparaiso
Title: 3D-printed antennas for CubeSat applications
Sponsor: Francisco Pizarro

Matteo Masciocchi, Polytechnic of Turin¬
Title: Scattering Matrix Spectral Analysis in Reduced Complexity by Spherical Harmonic Transform
Sponsor: Francesco P. Andriulli

IEEE 2021 Antennas & Propagation Society Doctoral Research Grant Winners

Bernd Hoffman, Technical University of Munich
Title: Low-Frequency Stabilized Inverse Surface Source Reconstruction Based on the Boundary Element Method
Sponsor: Thomas F. Eibert

Bharath Gundappa Kashyap, Arizona State University
Title: Terahertz Programmable Electromagnetic Surfaces
Sponsor: Georgios C Trichopoulos

Woosol Lee, University of Florida
Title: Metaconductor-based rectenna for high efficiency mmWave radiative wireless power transfer system
Sponsor: Yong-Kyu Yoon

Rahul Kumar Jaiswal, Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur
Title: Design and development of low profile wideband bidirectional endfire circularly polarized (CP) antenna with same sense for coal mines or long tunnel communications
Sponsor: Kumar Vaibhav Srivastava

Md Rasheduzzamanan Al-Amin, Polytechnique Montréal
Title: On/In Package Connected Antenna Arrays for Future Millimeter Devices
Sponsor: Mohammad Sharawi

Fedir O. Yevtushenko, Institute of Radio-Physics and Electronics NASU
Title: Resonant scattering and absorption of terahertz waves by infinite gratings of graphene strips on dielectric substrate: analytical regularization-based analysis
Sponsor: Alexander Nosich

Naman Baghel, Indian Institute of Technology Jodhpur
Title: : Design of Antenna and its Arrays for Millimeter wave application using Substrate Integrated Coaxial Line technology

Qianyi Li, University of Idaho
Title: Investigation of Physical Limitation of Non-Foster Circuits Matched Antennas
Sponsor: Shih Ting-Yen

Kundan Kumar Suman, Indian Institute of Technology (Indian School of Mines) Dhanbad
Title: Analysis of a dielectric resonator-based phased antenna array transmitter system for 5G mmWave applications
Sponsor: Ravi Kumar Gangwar

IEEE 2021 Antennas & Propagation Society Eugene F. Knott Pre-Doctoral Research Grant Winners

Omar Orgeira Alvarez, KTH Royal Institute of Technology
Title: Novel Measurement Technique for Body Absorption in mm-Waves via an IR Sensor
Sponsor: Oscar Quevedo-Teruel

Kapil Gangwar, University of Alberta
Title: Ultra-wideband (UWB) radar system to study child obesity via adipose tissue characterization
Sponsor: Rambabu Karumudi

Alaguraj Ramkarthick, Sri Sivasubramaniya Nadar College of Engineering
Title: Mutual Coupling Estimation in Jerusalem Cross Based Metasurfaces Using Equivalent Circuit Model
Sponsor: Selvan Krishnasamy T

IEEE 2020 Antennas & Propagation Society Doctoral Research Grant Winners

Audrey Evans, University of Wisconsin - Madison
Title: Microwave-induced thermoacoustic signals for real-time monitoring of microwave ablation
Sponsor: Chu Ma

Parinaz Naseri, University of Toronto
Title: A Generative Machine Learning-Based Approach for Inverse Design of Multilayer Metasurfaces
Sponsor: Sean Hum

Nicholas Russo, Florida International University
Title: : Space and Time Modulated 4D MIMO Antennas
Sponsor: Stavros Georgakopoulos

Stavros Vakalis, Michigan State University
Title: Real-time Incoherent Millimeter-Wave Imaging Using 5G Signals of Opportunity
Sponsor: Jeffrey Nanzer

IEEE 2020 Antennas & Propagation Society Eugene F. Knott Pre-Doctoral Research Grant Winners

Trask Crane, University of Wisconsin – Madison
Sponsor: Susan Hagness

Kadircan Godeneli, Bogazici University
Title: Wearable Cavity Backed Slot Repeater Antenna with a Matching Medium
Sponsor: Sema Dumanli Oktar

Max Kelly, University of Manitoba
Title: An Advanced Modular Design Tool for Electromagnetic Metasurfaces
Sponsor: Puyan Mojabi